Our Library building holds the personal collection of W.A."Bill" Chalfant. Chalfant's father, P.A. Chalfant, was an early pioneer into Inyo, traveling for a time with the ill-fated Death Valley Party of 1849, and was the founder of the Inyo Independent, and later the Inyo Register newspaper. W.A. Chalfant became editor and publisher with the Chalfant Press publishing company in Bishop, when his father was elected county assessor in 1887. W.A. Chalfant oversaw the newspapers until the company was sold in 1942 to Todd Watkins and Owen Cooper. He remained editor emeritus of The Inyo Register until his death on Nov. 5, 1945.
Also in the library are a stunning collection of Joseph Emil “Aim” Morhardt watercolor paintings donated by Mary Jane (Kelz) and Edward C. Kerber, as well as many other donated items of Owens Valley history, including art, family histories, musical instruments, and many antiques
The building was the original Catholic church, located on West Elm Street in Bishop. It was built in 1921 and moved to the museum in 1972. The entire structure was moved in a single piece.
In 2022, fundraising is underway for a restoration project on this building.